Advisory Committee News

Check out what some of the distinguished members of our amazing Advisory Committee have been up to recently.

Carol Franklin, FASLA (shown above), founding partner of the pioneering landscape architecture firm Andropogon Associates, has partnered with Larry Weaner Landscape Associates (LWLA) on several design projects at sites in Maryland.  Everyone at LWLA is thrilled to be working with the doyenne of ecological landscape design!

Charles Birnbaum, FASLA, President and CEO of The Cultural Landscape Foundation, received a 2017 ASLA medal (the Society’s highest award).  He is currently a Visiting Professor at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation

Bob Grese, FASLA, Chair of Ecosystem Management in the School of Natural Resources and Environment at the University of Michigan, presented on “Restoration in Cities” at the 2017 Society for Ecological Restoration Midwest Great Lakes Midwest Chapter Meeting.

Darrel Morrison, FASLA celebrated his 80th birthday in 2017 and his friends, former students, and colleagues contributed to a festschrift in his honor.

Leslie Sauer, FASLA and founding partner of the pioneering landscape architecture firm Andropogon Associates, published a “Soil as a Living System” post on the Ecological Landscape Alliance web site.  The article was adapted from her influential book The Once and Future Forest (1998).

Douglas Tallamy, Ph.D, Professor of Etymology at the University of Delaware and author of the acclaimed Bringing Nature Home (2009), recently co-published an article on public preferences for ecosystem services in exurban landscapes.

Gerould Wilhelm, Ph.D, botanist, research taxonomist, and educator with Conservation Design Forum, recently released the expanded and updated Flora of the Chicago Region.  It is considered to be the most complete flora ever written for any place in the U.S.  This 1,400-page tome by Wilhelm and his collaborators supersedes the 4th edition of the now out-of-print Plants of the Chicago Region (Swink and Wilhelm, 1994).

Other NDAL Advisory Committee members include:

  • Glenn Dreyer
  • Richard Lighty, Ph.D
  • Jim MacKenzie
  • David Robertson, Ph.D


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s